Ode to the Egg

20130402_122530I am a HUGE fan of eggs. Yes, I know that they come from a chicken’s butt, and I know they are bad for cholesterol, yada, yada, yada. But they taste so good, they are so versatile and can be cooked in so many different ways, and they are so convenient. I just love how they come in their own little packaging and all.

This weekend my husband and I were at a restaurant and he ordered his eggs “over medium.” He was then very disgruntled when they arrived with the yokes overcooked. I then, got to listen to a rather lengthy explanation of how each method of cooking eggs should be executed. Since I have the memory of a goldfish, I found this standard of methods online to share with you:

“Poached”  Cracked open and gently boiled out of the shell until the whites have congealed but the yolk is still runny

“Soft boiled”  Boiled inside its shell until the whites have set and the yolk has very slightly thickened

“Hard boiled”  Boiled in its shell until the whites are firm and the yolk is solid

“Scrambled”  The white and yolk are mixed together

“Over easy”  Pan fried on one side until cooked halfway through, then flipped over and fried on the other side until the white has set –  the edges can be crispy but the yolk is still runny.

“Over medium”  Like an over easy egg, but cooked more on the second side –  the yolk will be thick or sticky, but not hard

“Over well” or “Over hard.”  Fried on one side as for “over easy”, then cooked on the other side until the yolk has completely set –  some cooks will break the yolk

“Fried” or “Over hard and break ’em”   Fried on both sides, slightly browned, with a broken yolk

“Sunny Side Up” or “Basted” Fried on one side and not flipped

*Disclaimer: Methods may vary from region to region

The Perfect Boiled Egg

I recently went on a search for how to cook the “perfect” boiled egg. Most of you probably already know how to do this, but apparently I missed this in my list of things that you are just supposed to to know how to do from birth. The last time I boiled eggs I put them on the stove to boil and left them…for about an hour. Let’s just say, the smell reminded me that they were done (see goldfish memory reference above.) There they were, no water and 4 perfectly little brown, charred, smoking orbs. So this time, I stood over them and watched them come to a boil. Boy, howdy, you just haven’t lived until you’ve watched eggs boil. It’s right up there with watching paint dry.

Anyway, here are the instructions:

  1. Place eggs in pot and cover with cold water.
  2. Bring slowly to a boil (Believe me the excitement is more than you can stand!)
  3. Just when it starts to boil, turn the heat off and cover with a lid. Set off of the burner.
  4. Now is the time you can go off and leave them alone for at least 15 minutes.

I must say they came out perfectly! Tender and fluffy with none of that green goop around the yoke. (I don’t even want to know what that stuff is but I know I’ve been eating it for years.)

I would love to hear any other methods you might have heard!

2 thoughts on “Ode to the Egg

Leave a Reply

