A is for Android, Apps and yes, even Apple

android love

I am an Android smartphone user. Okay, there, I admit it. (I feel like I’m at an AA meeting except it’s Androids Anonymous)

At my work I am definitely in the minority. Android is sort of, how can I say this…a dirty word. So when it came time to upgrade my phone last year I was tempted to go to the dark side. Then, I did a side by side comparison between the iPhone 4 and the Samsung Galaxy S3. The Samsung ran neck and neck with the iPhone until it came down to screen and phone size. In those areas the Samsung blew the iPhone right out of the competition. It’s thin design and large screen won me over. We have co-existed happily together ever since.

What I find to be the most amazing thing about both the Apple and the Android operating systems is the endless number of apps that you can download. Now, whenever something pops into my head, I automatically think, “Is there an app for that?” So far, I haven’t found any that will cook or do housework but I’m still hopeful.

I thought I would share a few of my favorites.

First, the must-haves:

Light app – I know this sounds silly but this is probably my most used app. I have Droid Light which uses your camera flash as a flashlight. No more groping for candles in the dark when the electricity goes out, or getting up to pee in the middle of the night, finding the door lock or walking to your car at night, etc. Its uses are endless.

Weather app – I use the one from my local TV station so I know what is going on in my own back yard.

Bank app – There are so many things besides checking your balance that you can do with this app it is crazy. I never go to the bank anymore. The best thing is depositing checks. Just take a picture of the front and back of your check, submit, and bam…deposited. Most major banks have apps.

Book app – A good book app is a necessity if you are ADD like I am. My brain has to have something to do at ALL times or it becomes the devils playground. Reading keeps me from doing things like standing up in the doctor’s office and leading all the sick people in campfire songs.

Navigation app – Most of the new phones come with a map app installed. I honestly don’t know how I ever found my way out of a paper bag without this app. A word of warning though, Mapquest will sometimes take you on a merry little jaunt through the countryside before taking you to your destination. I suspect that this is the way programers secretly get their jollies.

News feed – I’m throwing this one in just to placate some of my nerdy friends (you know who you are.) Most days I don’t give two shakes of a dog’s hind leg what is going on in the rest of the world. I have quite enough on my own little plate to handle, thank you very much. But I do have friends who want to know immediately if some tragedy happened on the other side of the world. God bless them. I will leave it to them to keep me informed in the event of a zombie apocalypse.

Now some apps just for kicks and giggles:

Jo Ann’s Fabric and Craft Store / Hobby Lobby
I love these because they show the weekly coupon offers and all you have to do is show them to the cashier and they will give you the offer. No more chasing down a newspaper to clip the coupon. It is always right there with you.

Gstrings
This is a guitar tuner. I’ll bet you thought it was something naughty didn’t you. Shame on you. I threw it in just to get your attention. It’s great not to have to carry a tuner around with you. Now, if it could magically make a pick appear when I needed it, it would be perfect.

Where’s My Droid?
I am forever laying my phone down somewhere and forgetting where it is. Where’s My Droid lets you email or text from another phone and it will ring until you find it. I’m still figuring this one out but I love the concept.

WakeVoice
An alarm clock with all the bells and whistles…literally. This app can be customized to wake you up in what ever fashion you wish; music, news, horoscope, you name it. You can even give it a short sentence to say. Mine says, “Get your butt out of bed you lazy woman.” I like to think of it as my conscience speaking to me. But like most things my conscience says, I usually ignore her and go back to sleep.

These are just a few of my favorites but there are thousands more out there in cyberland. I can’t wait to see what’s coming next! Feel free to share some of your favorite apps…mama needs a new addiction.

Leave a Reply

